Daily SG: 27 Feb 2008

Budget 2008
– The Daily Backtrack: The Auntie’s View on the Budget
– Mr Wang Says So: The Government Missed By $7,150,000,000. Just Another Honest Mistake
– The Online Citizen: Bitter medicine prescription – with a little spin thrown in
– Sgpolitics: Parliamentary snapshots (25 and 26 Feb 08)
– BothSidesOfTheJohorStraits: …Ministry of Finance should be replaced by a bunch of dart-throwing chimps!
– Singapore Patriot: Bring back our 5% GST, Tharman
– My Singapore News: A $6.4b happy mistake
– utopia: 2008 budget…what did they say again?
– Siew Kum Hong: Budget 2008: Speech on Budget Statement, 26 February 2008

The Inconvenient Truth
– catherinelim.sg: Singapore: The Inconvenient Truth
– Nomed Letters: The Hypocrisy of Established Individuals

CPF & Annuities
– The Online Citizen: CPF Life – does it really address retirement needs?
– Random Rants: CPF Tweaks – Compulsory Annuity Scheme (2)

Singapore Wins 2010 Youth Olympics Bid
– Singapore Life and Times: Your house my home
– BothSidesOfTheJohorStraits: Singapore 2010: a mini-curse in disguise for the PAP?

Singaporeans are fed, up with progress!
– Diary of A Singaporean Mind: Inflation, Inflation, Inflation..

Strangers in a strange land
– Sgpolitics: Dr Wong Wee Nam: Why Do We Need 6.5 Million People?

The Great Escape
– Singapore Election Watch: Goodbye and thank you

Daily Discourse
– catherinelim.sg: A challenge for the future: Democratising the Lee Kuan Yew model of governance?
– The Maxima: How to systematically develop creativity in Singapore?
– In Search of Goh Bock Seng: Unfair to compare Low Thia Kiang with Malaysian opposition leader Lim Kit Siang

Life, the universe and everything
– The armchair critic: Hi I’m from ACS, I must be a hunk…

This entry was posted in Daily Sg. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily SG: 27 Feb 2008

  1. Mediawhore says:

    My daddy loves me this I know, for my mama told me so.

  2. etcetera says:

    You know I hate to say this, but by Catherine going up there to speak the way she did. I can’t help feel, she may have been set up for the fall?
    :(

    Is it just me? From what she actually ranted, it was all puff and no shot, comes across like a tai tai rather than someone who professes to have a phd, or is she? Permanently Head Damaged?

    Joke :)

  3. KKP says:

    mediawhore aka Clobal Gossip, you take up over 40 slots! To say things that have relatively no importance.

    I tell you what, why don;t you keep it up and I will just ask the brotherhood to re-invade Miss Dotty’s site at “just stuff.”

    I think one more post from you and I will just ask them to hammer you like and the cult of Mr Brown.

    We getting abit tired of you and we all know what you are trying to do!

    KKP

    PS: Pls make my day, one more time! Please.

  4. KKP says:

    Please do not stop Zombie & Squirrel, Mediawhore, Global Gossip etc. Do not stop.

    I can tell you the brotherhood are not exactly the most logical ppl in this planet when you irritate them.

    And I can tell you on a factor of 100 you are very near the 99.9 point, so even if they have to break all the rules and smash into Dotty’s site they will do it just to get you.

    So please do not stop, bc as one of their regular readers, we get what we want, you other hand Ben may find yourself like NLB sitting in the corner having to eat shit pie.

    Dont stop Ben, you’re a wimp if you stop and ppl like darkness will probably take your wife and sister behind the bush bc you could be the man to step up and do the things that we are all counting on you to do….to bring them all back, do it!

  5. KKP says:

    You want to turn this site into one giant circus junk yard, there are some of us here who genuinely want to read, learn and improve our lives, but instead we have to deal with fucks like you who cannot even get their dick up to satisfy a woman and need to come here and masturbate on line using your key board.

    Do it Ben, they are watching you in the shadows, you do not know them Ben, as I said, they are not exactly the most logical ppl when you irritate, the shit out of them!

    Do it or I will personally impersonate you! I’ve had enough of your shit, no one wants to talk to you, we are not interested in you, we have our own community which we do not want you to be part of, yet you keep interrupting us no end, so what do you really expect them to do?

    What do you think they will do Ben? Have you ever considered what your actions have on the rest of us?

  6. Dr Lee Tat Boon says:

    Kokopops Dearest,

    We all know Zombie & Squirrel, Mediawhore, Global Gossip or whatever he or she wants to call herself are one of the same. I believe the intention is very clear to scissor the thread and make it difficult and impossible to read coherently or even follow effeciently. This will not work for the long time BP readers because we all know from day one they have always been hunted, but for the new readers it will present issues with navigation and being able to string the flow of thoughts.

    I believe the BP especially ppl like darkness should consider re-opening a blog or perhaps hooking it up with someone, I have read some of the post here and to all intents and purposes they are as substantive if not more than any I have read in some blogs. They are also insightful, especially the ones concerning Dr Cherian George and I feel it would be good to have them in one place where I direct my students to visit it should I choose to use it, as it is there is a danger vandals like Mediawhore or whoever he or she wants to call themselves will just destroy something very special.

    I personally do not believe it is very nice or respectful to trample on the thoughts of someone just because that person may have some personal problems, everyone deserves their space, both BP and their readers deserve the right to write and read without undue interference. I personally do not see how using 60 or 70 comment slots to just put across meaningless thoughts can add anything to the debate? I can only draw the conclusion it was designed to harrass, disrupt and cause mischief.

    I too seriously recommend that Darkness breaks into Dotty site and transfer all the material from this site there!

  7. Dr Lee Tat Boon says:

    We all know the BP have critical mass, but I do not see why both the writers and readers should put up with nonsense post that are regularly pasted here. I can only draw a few likely conclusions; this person is representing the pro-registration camp; or there is clearly an attempt to sabotage. In either case, I strongly recommend a terse, strong and very decisive reply. Thanks.

  8. Dr Lee Tat Boon says:

    What garbage is this? Do we have to put up with this Darkness? We want action!

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:27 pm
    I think it’s Mahbubani.

    I’m not from Singapore, but I can try to spell.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:30 pm
    p.s. You can write better and with chim-chim discourse lah, but we don’t care one.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:31 pm
    We’re apprenticing as sports commentators, in case you don’t get it.

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:32 pm
    GG!!

    Don’t be a spoilsport!

    Didn’t you say you love me? Couldn’t you stroke the animals with me and make them happy?

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:41 pm
    Damn whore!

    Don’t ya geddit?!

    We’re a parallel narrative with content that should not touch the original!

    It’s TV and audience in the same space, understand??!

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:46 pm
    You mean… you mean they don’t give a damn about us?!

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:46 pm
    You mean you didn’t know?

    Your mother lied to you.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:50 pm
    That’s why we’ve to be lovers.

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:53 pm
    But, what about my friends, too?!

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:54 pm
    It’s the same bunch.

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:55 pm
    But… If what you say is true…

    Why did KKP answer me??

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:57 pm
    He’s a minion of theirs.

    And they all laugh at you for having such a mother. And they all laugh at your life and think you weird, as though you don’t deserve to live.

    They won’t ever say it of course, but that’s just what they feel inside.

    They’re not us.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 12:58 pm
    That’s why I often tell you that “for or against” matters little.

    Because the starting sentiment they had towards you, was incompatible right from the start.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:01 pm
    It doesn’t matter what you say or do.

    Once their starting sentiment towards you is wrong, it’s quite useless to discuss matters of “respect” or even “sportsmanship”.

    That’s why neither you nor them can assuage one another.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:01 pm
    That is, “beneath contempt” is, vice-versa.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:04 pm
    Though I’m told that “beneath contempt” is not their way.

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:05 pm
    You mean… They can’t understand me?!

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:05 pm
    Yes.

    Mediawhore Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:33 pm
    But… I never thought of their parents that way.

    Global Gossip Says:
    27 February 2008 at 1:34 pm
    That’s why we’re different.

    That’s why “sportsmanship” so-called sounded so hollow.

    Yet you chose to believe because of your internal conflict.

    And then, because they lacked utter empathy in such matters, they continued their tryst.

  9. dentist Jan says:

    I AM GENERALLY A VERY PATIENT PERSON, BUT I RUN MY LIMIT WITH THE LIKES OF ZOMBIE & SQUIRREL OR WHOEVER HIS SCREWED UP SMALL DICK BRAIN WANTS TO BE TMR! I AGREE WITH DR LEE, WRITERS AND READERS HAVE A RIGHT TO WRITE AND READ IN PEACE WITHOUT HAVING TO ENDURE ALL SORTS OF DISRUPTION.

    BAMBI DARKNESS WAS KICKED OUT OF SINGAPORE ANGLE ONLY BECAUSE HE MADE ONE SINGLE OFF COMMENT / ONLY ONE, NOT TWO, NOT THREE, NOT FOUR, BUT ONE AND ONLY ONE THAT MANY ALSO MADE BUT DID NOT GET KICKED OUT. SEE FOR YOURSELF, IF YOU DO NOT BELIEVE ME!

    http://www.singaporeangle.com/2008/01/privacy_for_ah_kong_privacy_fo.html#comments

    THIS IDIOT HAS MADE OVER 800 COMMENTS IN DOTTY ALONE! 800, CAN YOU EVEN BELIEVE IT! AND HERE IT AVERAGES 30 TO 40 POST A DAY.

    WHAT IS THE BROTHERHOOD GOING TO DO ABT IT. I SEE NOTHING BEING DONE HERE. ALL I SEE IS INDECISION.

    DENTIST JAN

  10. Mediawhore says:

    The doctor is so cute when he screams.

  11. Darkness says:

    Dear Valued Readers,

    Please remain calm. I have read some of the post in circulating amongst some of the read clubs and I will say this; when people want you to jump, that is the last thing that you should do; as it simply means, you are playing into their hands.

    We have known for a long time since IS days and you can even confirm this with Inspired and most recently Dotty, the blog owner of JUST STUFF, there are certainly elements out there who are out to cause mischief, every time, we try to even have anything near a civil and serious discourse, they will come in and disrupt and tear up the thread.

    Their motivation hardly requires any elaboration.

    In principle, I agree with the elder reader Dr Lee, all of us have a ‘right,’ but we cannot say one thing and do the opposite – not without incurring significant loss of credibility.

    We have always been in favor of a free net and that simply means, there will always be certain quarters out there who will choose to further their agenda’s and designs by creating the conditions which compels us to re-evaluate this position; how do they accomplish this; by posting anon in very much the same way these characters have more or less torn up some of the threads here; why do they not confine their ruminations to their own threads? That I leave to you.

    This does not dissolve our resolve one bit for continuing to advocate a free net that should never be subject to registration – if anything it strengthens our resolve.

    Question: why are we not doing anything about it? For months we have been studying them, their modus operandi along with everything that makes up their purpose, mission and even the desired end which they hope to accomplish; bear in mind making enemies is not so simple; there will always be ramifications.

    Just to share with all of you; when I first started working, I found out one day my boss was doctoring engineering reports. I whistle on him; was I right; yes, but he survived and made my life hell thereafter, I even had to go abroad to work, because he and his gang literally chased me out of town; it was a bitter lesson, being right is only 50%; there is the other 50%, to win and this weighed on me.

    Some 5 years ago, I had a ‘thing’ with my church as some of you already know, again I believed, I was right and I again, I got hammered, because church life is after all about power and politics, it shouldn’t be that way say some, but it is, so again I found myself hobbled at every turn, this time was worst because I was running my own business. Fortunately, by then most of the people who dealt with me professionally have a history with me, so they can discern a distinct pattern from my character and what was alleged and what they saw simply didn’t gel – life was and is still tough and so this where we must understand that if we have a ‘right.’ It doesn’t make it ‘right,’ and it has even less to do with being victorious.

    Making enemies is something that I do not relish, because when you make enemies with someone, it is not only him alone, but it is fair to assume that you will also run the real danger of doing the same with his network of family, friends, colleagues and acquaintances – it should never be taken lightly, but that does not mean one should be push over all the time or be so accommodative and flexible that one doesn’t even have a definable set of values which others can easily say, “this is what he stands for! And this is also what he is prepared to say no too and fight to the very end.”

    I feel there must be a right balance – so give us time to conduct our own investigations as to how big a threat this is – it is not so simple like the bl case, where we all say, the cost will be high (because he has a large network as we do), but the cost of keeping silent will be higher, here I feel we may just be dealing with someone who needs a bit of professional care and I don’t want to go too far to push him off the edge – I will however I will say this, please kindly leave us be, if you stray one, twice or thrice, fine, as even I do that all the time and so do 99.9% of the ppl on this planet, but if you post over 1,427 comments and not a single one of them are even relevant to the discussion; what are you trying to accomplish here? You must think.

    Let me see what I can work out with the chronicler to mirror some of the threads here; I don’t think, we need to break into Dotty’s site, I will just pick up the phone and speak to her. Meanwhile please remain calm and patient, I really need to go back to my conference call. Thanks all – I would really appreciate it, if I do not have to deal with another comment on this subject again. Darkness 2008

  12. Mediawhore says:

    My sentiments exactly.

  13. Darkness says:

    Dear Valued Readers,

    Allow me to ring master the debate once again; these are the issues at hand.

    etcetera Says:
    27 February 2008 at 3:56 pm
    Hi,

    Interesting how this entire discussion has morphed. Darkness do you mind, if I take a bite at Debbie’s quuestion?

    https://singaporedaily.wordpress.com/2008/02/22/daily-sg-22-feb-2008/#comment-1263

    What Debbie’s says makes sense. Literature happens to be my forte, teaching it at least at a tertiary level, so I am not as qualified as some people here, but I feel there is a piece to add.

    In British culture, for instance, one may discover as Debbie puts it a quorum, usually its exclusive enough to perclude most and admit only a few, the freemasons and old boys network stands out. hey are designed to keep out others to make do nothing else except perpetuate they own vision of the world.

    However, I don’t Debbie may have been referring to those exclusive cosy instances of insiderism, she is very specific, she is saying the establishment may be trying to hijack the social and political discussion by bring Catherine lim out of blogoland and plonking her in the real world. So what is the X=-Ray analysis here I wonder. T

    This may sound like the stuff of conspiracy theories, but coming back to the case of culture in the literary sense, one may well discover what Debbie says holds true in Shakespeare, Defoe and even Austen what these authors do is fix socially desirable practises by entrenching them. We would like to say they are merely literature designed solely to entertain, but when seen in the wider context as Debbie puts it, they can empower, sanction, boycott and in certain cases even completely isolate and cut off.

    One example of this is the recent NLB classification of the 11 so called sterling blogs. I noticed none of them are anon blogs, despite the fact, the internet comprise up to 80% of anon bloggers, so who represents the anon bloggers.

    I think, I have been a trifle long winded here, thanks for the debate as always.:)

    Oppenheimer Says:
    27 February 2008 at 4:25 pm
    Really it’s simple, if I can control the dialogue, I am able to fashion the reality. Why do you think the Bush Admin put out a gag order on everyone prior the invasion of Iraq? My take….Cat Lim was definitely set up, that says 50%, the other 50%, I think we have to wait for the maestro to shed light on the issue – Darkness.

    as much as I respect him in every category, I feel he cannot answer this without Vollairiane et al. Good Day all and Good Work SG Daily.

    Most interesting development in this discussion and I thought it was dead, must remember, it is the BP, the BP, the BP hehehehe

    [I will speak to Dotty to see how we can transfer some of the material from here to there – Darkness 2008]

  14. Darkness says:

    OK, this is the latest update, I have just spoken to the Chronicler and Dotty, they don’t have any problems with relocating some of the material from the Singapore Daily to Just Stuff.

    Let me just say this, I am doing this primarily for the benefit of our first and new readers who may not be adept enough to wade thru the distractions.

    However, I must insist, it’s not a big deal for me, you see, I have always known for a very long long time, when you write something, it just doesn’t die off, that may be true of certain blogs like Galye Goh and even Kitana, but not the BP, there are too many networks and how can you stop someone, somewhere at sometime from saying, “hey, this is good, why don’t you check it out.”

    See for yourself, if you do not believe me, she is supposed to be long dead and gone, yet she scores more hits than even some blogs in operation today! Nearly double the Singapore Angle itself! Why?

    http://www.sitemeter.com/?a=stats&s=s26intelligentsg&r=38

    What more of new material generated here in this thread or in some obscure corner of blogoland? You really believe readers cannot find it? You are all naive!

    This I feel is something every single one of you should always ask yourself from time to time – Darkness 2007,

    Life is never than simple. Don’t worry, be happy.

Leave a Reply

